I was 18 years old and already passionate about hunting. I did every types of hunts without ever skipping a beat, but the first time I got to hunt behind a Griffon, it was a love at first sight kind of feeling, like meeting an old friend. I had found my hunting partner for the next 25 years, the only partner that would follow me every morning to go out in the field, the woods or the pond… even the cold ones, with as much enthusiasm as me.

I learned everything there is to know about Griffons, it’s origins, it’s history but mainly the ideology behind Eduard Karel’s effort in the development of the most versatile breed there is and that is what I work to bring forward through my breeding program.  My objective is to produce naturaly hunting dogs while being everyday companions for the entire family.

 

For the past 25 years, I’ve tested my dogs through NAVHDA trials with more than convincing results. 4 Natural Ability Breeder’s Awards, 165 Natural Ability Awards, 2 Versatility Champions, 84 Utility Tests including 25 Prize 1.

  

For the past 25 years Duchasseur has become a symbol of a great hunting dogs, well balanced that respect’s the standards developed by Eduard Karel.  A great dog with a sharp eye and that is my deepest pride.

J’avais 18 ans et j’étais déjà passionné de chasse.  Je les faisais toutes sans discrimination et avec la même passion, mais la première fois que j’ai chassé avec un Griffon ce fut en quelque sorte un coup de foudre, une rencontre. J’avais trouvé le partenaire de chasse idéal, mon partenaire pour au moins les 25 prochaines années.  Celui qui me suivrait tout autant au petit gibier

Steve Brodeur,propriétaire de l'élevage de Grifffon Korthals Duchasseur, nous parle de ses débuts et de son amour de cette race de chien de chasse.

qu’a la sauvagine et ce jusqu’en fin de saison.  Celui qui ferait tout ça avec tout autant de passion que moi. 

 

J’ai appris le Griffon, ses origines, mais surtout l’idéologie derrière les efforts d’Eduard Karel Korthals pour produire le chien de chasse le plus polyvalent qui soit et c'est cette idéologie que je perpétue à travers mon élevage.  Mon objectif est de produire des chiens qui sont de redoutables chasseurs naturels, tout en étant des compagnons de tous les jours équilibrés et souhaitant vivre en famille. 

 

Depuis plus de 25 ans, je présente mes chiens en compétition lors d’épreuves de chasse NAVHDA avec des résultats plus que concluants. 4 Natural Ability Breeder’s award, 165 N.A., 2 VC, 84 UT dont 25 Prix I.

 

Depuis 25 ans Duchasseur est devenu un symbole de chiens de chasse au tempérament équilibré, à la constitution respectant les standards de la race et au regard intelligent et j'en suis  très fiers.